Brown Acid : The Fourth Trip

There's something undeniably exciting about never-before-heard recordings found in some basement.

In this case, the basement is a Beverly Hills' record vault chock full of Hollywood's long defunct Demars & Duffy Music recordings, among others. From 45's to 1/4" master tapes, this Fourth Trip of the Brown Acid series provides rare 60s-70s proto-metal/heavy-psych singles compiled by Chicago/LA's Permanent Records and RidingEasy Records. This duo knows what's up. Aside from releasing the Fourth Trip on 4/20 (duh) they've released a teaser track to let us know what we're in for.

So, to that guy who's heard it all- don't pretend to know any of these tracks or bands, because no one but the members have listened to 'em in ages, ya asshole. 

Stream the 1969 track "Leave It" recorded by Kanaan in Texas. If you're a fan of Sir Lord Balitmore, and high-energy fuzz as a whole - take the Brown Acid, man.

Preorder the compilation on vinyl or digitally.


Brown Acid : The Fourth Trip - Track Listing:

01. Kanaan "Leave It"

02. Stone Garden "Oceans Inside Me"

03. Headstones "Carry Me On" 

04. Wrath "Rock N' Roll Fever"

05. Bungi "Numbers"

06. Erving Forbush "The Train"

07. Zekes "Comin' Back" (previously unreleased)

08. Bad Axe "Coachman"

09. Ash "Warrant"

10. Axas "Lucifer"


About Brown Acid: The Fourth Trip, straight from the horse's mouth:

"You may remember the Zekes' jaw dropper "Box" from the First Trip. If you don't, you better go back and refresh your memory, you stoner. That song rips! And so does this previously unheard recording we legally obtained from the Beverly Hills records vaults. "Comin' Back" is the longest tune we've yet to include on this series and it's a full-on rager! The only surviving copy of this recording came to us on the original 1/4" master tape from Hollywood's long-defunct Demars & Duffy Music. We did our best to preserve the recording and we think you'll appreciate the rawness.

There have been numerous groups named Bad Axe over the years, but the one you hear here is the baddest. This five-piece fresh outta high school kicked out this jam (and a few others) in a Chicago studio in 1973 just for the hell of it. As a garage band, they were previously named The Burlington Express and they went on to be known as Bitch, but these dudes hit their stride as Bad Axe and "Coachman" is their crowning achievement. It went completely unreleased until 2014 when Permanent Records issued it and "Poor Man, Run" as a limited edition 45 with a killer picture sleeve. It's long out-of-print and only obtainable now on Brown Acid.

The rest of the records included on this volume vary in rarity, but at least two of them were virtually unknown until we discovered them.  You'll win the lottery before you find copies of all of the original 45s in even the best record stores.  Many of the records included in this volume are owned only by the members of the bands and some of the band members don't even have personal copies.  That's just how hard these guys hit it back in the day!  We're lucky some of these guys are still alive and well enough to give us permission to use their masters.

Lance Barresi, co-owner of L.A./Chicago retailer Permanent Records has shown incredible persistence in tracking down a stellar collection of rare singles from the 60s and 70s for the growing compilation series. Partnered with Daniel Hall of RidingEasy Records, the two have assembled a selection of songs that's hard to believe have remained unheard for so long."

"I essentially go through hell and high water just to find these records," Barresi says. "Once I find a record worthy of tracking, I begin the (sometimes) extremely arduous process of contacting the band members and encouraging them to take part. Daniel and I agree that licensing all the tracks we're using for Brown Acid is best for everyone involved," rather than simply bootlegging the tracks. When all of the bands and labels haven't existed for 30-40 years or more, tracking down the creators gives all of these tunes a real second chance at success."

Foul South Magazine