COKEGOAT- Chicago six-piece drunkenly breakdown each track off their latest release 'Drugs and Animals'

COKEGOAT just released their 7 track LP on November 25th and have ever so graciously written a track-by-track breakdown of their nihilistic thoughts on each song. Buy the vinyl here and check out what this heavy, prog-crossover has to say about their own shit. Hell, maybe we'll ask 'em to write some FS music reviews-- these nerds have a way with words and paint a helluvah picture.

-FS Staff  

"Drugs And Animals is a tall refreshing Long Island Ice Tea in a craft cocktail world. It’s trashy, it will get you fucked up, and you’ll probably wake up in a strange place needing a double dose of antibiotics. To quote producer/engineer Andy Nelson during the recording sessions, ‘This album is dense.’ Since our 2013 debut LP Vessel, countless group texts have helped COKEGOAT achieve growing friendships, razor sharp focus, mental stability, financial instability and a more advanced writing process. In other words, we are beyond stoked to get this record to your earholes."  -COKEGOAT

01. "Quiet Tyrant"
- This song is like the launch of a planetary abyss. The dark side of every moon. The sedative dream state and connection through a personal orbit to inevitable slumber. We all gonna die.

02. "The Burner"
- Our drummer Jordan kept asking to write a burner, so we did. It was written while Jordan wasn’t there. He got what he asked for. It seems like he likes the exercise.

03. "Winter Of Fear"
- This track was written after a super-traumatic birthing experience. When we scream about pain in this song, we mean it. If you’re getting chills at any point during this track, it’s because making life is a disgusting, gooey, bloody mess.

04. "Nurture"
- From inside comes outsides. Voices like rungs of a ladder connect. What we have created together takes the horrible, the beautiful and births one strong floating entity. Only blood holds the bond in the end, as in the beginning. We call this one our menstrual minstrel. We’re usually pretty drunk.

Cokegoat's heads

05. "The Ruiner"
- Jordan brought some cool riffs. Chase and Jordan started fleshing out a rough skeleton of a song, a primal headbanger groove machine if you will. The title references Chase’s ability to shit on everything.

06. "Where The Sun Dies"
- Everything seems fine and dandy until you realize you're walking to your funeral. In the snow. Uphill both ways. Follow the trail of blood to get back home to your grave. This is the only song we have where our bassist Tim doesn’t touch the E string.

07. "Kreator/Destroyer"
- This nasty track closes out the record. It’s the song most deserving of chugging microwaved Busch lite. We wrote this song about three days before we recorded it. We haven’t played it since. We’re still not sure how we feel about it.

Foul South Magazine